Home Boston Phoenix
Club Guide
Salsaweb
Beginners Guide to Salsa in Boston
Visitors Guide to Salsa in Boston
Search for Salsa Clubs by day of week
Search by Location
New England and Boston Salsa Clubs
Search for All Ages Salsa in Boston
Search for special events
Calendar
Club Reviews
Message Board
Photo Gallery
Get Listed
Get in touch

Nightclub Reviews: Havanas Night Club & Lounge (Portland)

Reviews for Other Clubs If a club is not listed, no reviews for it have been received yet.
Submit a new review

Club Reviews for Havanas Night Club & Lounge (Portland)
8 Reviews Found

Ratings*: 1 to 5, 5=best
(#) = number of responses
Overall Reviewers' Rating: 4.2 (8 resp)
Atmosphere: 4.6 (8 resp) Dancing: 4.2 (8 resp)
Dance Floor: 4.0 (8 resp) Noise Level/Volume: 4.5 (8 resp)
Music Quality: 3.9 (8 resp) Parking: 3.4 (8 resp)
% Salsa: 68.3 (7 resp) % Merengue: 19.4 (7 resp)
% House: 0 (0 resp) % Other: 12.3 (7 resp)
* Published ratings are compiled directly from response received from the dancing public. SalsaBoston.com in no way endorses ratings as they appear.

Reviewed by "nina" on 2/20/2012 21:29:25 Pop up this reviewer's ratings
I was looking for a salsa place and i was told that Ryles was the place to be. But even thought they played mostly salsa all night there was no variation. It was mainly salsa from PR or NY (which I like) but after a while you want to listen to something else (Rublen Blades, Juan Luis, Celia...Cuban Salsa) Anyone born in the Caribbean understands where i'm coming from. It was so repetitive that after a while when I listened to a Bachata (even thought I don't like bachata) i felt great. The atmosphere was great. the DJ was very nice as well. I just think he doesn't have a lot of music to play. Next time I am going somewhere else!!!!

Reviewed by "Sunshinelady" on 3/17/2006 11:17:42 Pop up this reviewer's ratings
Salsa ? yes, but mostly Merengue and Bachata. I just wish they would mix it up more and include Cumbia and Punta. Most importnatly, Havana is as good as it gets when it comes to classy. Being a native new yorker, this is the only place in Portland that attracts well dressed men who can really dance, people over 30, and a good mix of people from everywhere! So ladies dust off those heels, dress like you mean business, cause Havana is the place- you know how we do!

Reviewed by "Wendy" on 2/23/2006 7:48:5 Pop up this reviewer's ratings
8 Years I've been waiting for this!!!!!!!!!!! Havanas is great. The friendliest bunch of prople you could ask for, great atmosphere - FREE lesson, $3 Mojitos! $5 cover! It's good mix of music:)Then next step? A seperate pure Salsa night for the hard core dancers is what I'd like to see! But no complaints about Fridays - it caters to everyone! We've been taking our trips down to Boston - It's time Boston came to us!

Reviewed by "Marlena" on 2/11/2006 11:13:20 Pop up this reviewer's ratings
Cool atmosphere...Mojitos are great...Portland has Mojitos..what's next cable TV?? LOL LOL Wonderful music and a great staff taht makes you feel welcome...

Reviewed by "Roberto" on 1/21/2006 18:56:55 Pop up this reviewer's ratings
About time Portland, Maine!! great latin club...wonderful atmosphere

Reviewed by "Idailys" on 12/15/2005 12:8:4 Pop up this reviewer's ratings
Best latin club Maine has ever seen!!

Reviewed by "gentull" on 11/25/2005 0:51:1 Pop up this reviewer's ratings
SATURDAY NIGHTS need more danceable music. There is no true flow to the night. I understand that they are trying to use Red Hot 96 to promote the night, but you need to get people to stay at the club once they are there. We are not sitting in our cars listening to the radio and that's where most of the music played on Saturday night should be heard. It is too slow. Liven it up a little...give people a reason to stay on not just the dance floor, but in the club in general. Overall, there is so much potential. Music selection is key, but hey that's just me!!!!

Reviewed by "Javy" on 11/16/2005 13:29:15 Pop up this reviewer's ratings
Obviously i give Havanas a Great Review...Come North for the largest latin night north of Boston... http://www.HavanasNightClub.com Havanas Night Club & Lounge join the fun, dance the night away...experience the tropical decor...enjoy the finest spirits from the islands! Every Thursday: w/ resident Disc Jockey DJ ERWIN playing the best in Salsa, merengue, Buchata and more... No attitude, no drama, no problem!! Pure Fun..w/people you want to hang with... Denise will start the night off w/ FREE salsa lessons from 8:30PM-9:30 PM "Great atmosphere..." Maria Morales "Ineteractive fun..." Ana Gonzalez Havanas is located inside the Stadium complex at 504 Congress Street, Portland, Maine 21 plus $5.00 cover for more info check out www.HavanasNightClub.Com

For more reviews select a club. If a club is not listed, no reviews for it have been received yet.

Please Write your own review!

 

© 2005 SalsaBoston Entertainment, All Rights Reserved