Home Boston Phoenix
Club Guide
Salsaweb
Beginners Guide to Salsa in Boston
Visitors Guide to Salsa in Boston
Search for Salsa Clubs by day of week
Search by Location
New England and Boston Salsa Clubs
Search for All Ages Salsa in Boston
Search for special events
Calendar
Club Reviews
Message Board
Photo Gallery
Get Listed
Get in touch

Nightclub Reviews: Mojitos Lounge Saturday

Reviews for Other Clubs If a club is not listed, no reviews for it have been received yet.
Submit a new review

Club Reviews for Mojitos Lounge Saturday
16 Reviews Found

Ratings*: 1 to 5, 5=best
(#) = number of responses
Overall Reviewers' Rating: 3.2 (16 resp)
Atmosphere: 3.5 (16 resp) Dancing: 3.0 (15 resp)
Dance Floor: 3.4 (16 resp) Noise Level/Volume: 3.4 (16 resp)
Music Quality: 3.4 (16 resp) Parking: 2.4 (16 resp)
% Salsa: 34.9 (15 resp) % Merengue: 29.5 (14 resp)
% House: 25.0 (9 resp) % Other: 26.0 (13 resp)
* Published ratings are compiled directly from response received from the dancing public. SalsaBoston.com in no way endorses ratings as they appear.

Reviewed by "1on1onetime" on 9/23/2010 12:14:45 Pop up this reviewer's ratings
I went alone. At the beginning of the night they had a great Salsa instructor teaching beginner dancers (all ladies) upstairs which was fun. As the regulars piled in later, the music moved from Salsa to Merengue and Reggaeton. Some Salsa people stayed, then the Reggaeton was played more often. Downstairs was packed so I assume there was an overflow of that crowd moving upstairs and requesting it. A sprinkle of Salsa was played and people danced to it. I think they want to do Salsa upstairs, but cater to the crowd they have, which is only good business. If you're looking for something different than the usual Salsa scene Mojito's might be an adventure to break up your Salsa routine. The Bartender's bouncers and managers seemed pleasant and helpful. I didn't get a bad vibe and felt welcome although I was careful to be extra polite social dancing a new crowd. It was a fun night all in all. Give it a try!

Reviewed by "ILoveSalsa!!!" on 2/9/2009 19:17:48 Pop up this reviewer's ratings
We went there on Sat for a b-day party. We were not impressed. The music was really good. Good mix of music. Alot of reggaeton in the downstairs lounge. I don't think I have ever been to a salsa club where there was so little salsa dancing!!! Sat should be called Reggaeton night. Don't get me wrong I LOVE reggaeton, but we were told that this is a salsa club. When I go to a salsa club I'm expecting at least 80% of the people there to be dancing (or want to dance). The dancing was BAD. This place was packed and I could count maybe 4-5 people that could actually dance salsa/merrengue/bachata. My friends and I (4 girls 2 guys) thought that we left the wallflowers behind in college. Donít see the point in going to a ďsalsaĒ club if you are going to hang out at the bar or the wall the whole night. Oh well now I know.

Reviewed by "SalsaDancerMA" on 2/9/2009 18:23:15 Pop up this reviewer's ratings
Mojitios is an ok club. Good mix of salsa, reggaeton, bachata, and merengue. Decent atmosphere and friendly staff. If you are a salsa dancer, mojitos may not be your first choice. Mojitos reminds me more of a dance club as opposed to a place to dance salsa, merengue, bachata, etc. If you are a person that enjoys Thur. night Salsa at Ryles or Fri night Salsa at the Havana Club, this might not be the place for you. As many of you know when you go to Ryles or the Havana club, guys can ask girls to dance and itís not a big deal. Mojitos is very similar to a regular club where a lot of ladies react to being asked to dance as a marriage proposal from a person that they do not know. A lot of standing around or hanging out on the wall, sitting down, or girls dancing with each other. When I go to a hip hop club and a salsa club Iím expecting to completely different experiences (not just music-wise). Donít get me wrong this place is fun but you have to BYOP (bring your own partner) if you want to guarantee that you dance. The quality of dancer on Sat Feb 7 was poor. Iím just an ok dancer myself but I love watching excellent dancers to help improve my own dancing.

Reviewed by "Shannon" on 12/7/2008 11:32:48 Pop up this reviewer's ratings
This is just a warning for travelers, if you are a REAL avid salsa dancer, don't go to Mojitos! This is just a sleezy pick up joint. The only dancing you'll see are American girls grinding on each other to get attention. It is a mostly Latino crowd but not a dancer crowd...BIG difference!

Reviewed by "Jamie" on 5/29/2007 12:38:54 Pop up this reviewer's ratings
The best things about this club are the clientele (super friendly) and the Mojitos (they make a mean mojito!). You can have parking validated nearby (see the Mojitos website for details), cover charge is $10, and the drink are on the expensive side, but worth it. There are two levels- an upstairs level with a salsa lesson at 9 followed by salsa, bachata, merengue, reggaeton dancing until 2 and a downstairs section with more reggaeton. I finnd the people who go to be a sophisticated, international crowd, all very polite and friendly. On the downside, it does seem to be more of a "pick-up" spot than a serious salsa crowd, but you will find some good dancers on the floor. I rarely sat because guys were constantly asking me to dance. Overall, a very enjoyable time! Great for beginners, might be boring for advanced salseros.

Reviewed by "Dancing fanatic" on 10/31/2006 13:3:19 Pop up this reviewer's ratings
We went on a Saturday night for my Birthday. We went early and were able to take the the dance lessons. This was a lot of fun, and the instructor was really nice and knew how to move. i would do this again. The guys at the front door were really nice and even when leaving. The coat check however the guy barely said two words to us and looked miserable. The noise level was good so if you wanted to talk you could still enjoy some conversation. The Bar wasn't super busy so getting drinks didn't take that long. For the price of $10 to get in i don't think it was bad at all. Especially if you get yourself on the guestlist.

Reviewed by "Boriboy" on 3/12/2006 13:28:31 Pop up this reviewer's ratings
We got there late around 12:00 am (not a good idea) we were forced to wait in line for almost 30 minutes. But when we finally got inside we were not disappointed! The place was really crowded, several hundred per floor and the music was great. The DJs were spinning a Latin mix with a little bit of something for everyone. The crowd and staff was Sofia's all over again; a young professional, ultra sexy, international, upscale group. The girls were friendly and the energy was great. Mojitos, Moet and martinis were everywhere. The drinks were really really good, not cheap but cheaper than most Downtown Boston clubs. Overall we had a great time! I highly recommend this night.

Reviewed by "JOHN" on 3/2/2006 8:16:3 Pop up this reviewer's ratings

Reviewed by "sheila" on 1/22/2006 10:47:11 Pop up this reviewer's ratings
The Club is on two levels: the upstairs bowling alley long, at the top of the stairs an attractive bar area, a few tall cocktail tables scattered along the brick wall on one side and the mirrored wall on the other. The downstairs has a lounge area with a tight dance floor at the other end of the bar. The crowd is polite, on the younger side, and well dressed. I dance regularly at Ryles, El Bembe, Supershag and frequented Sophia's. Mojitos is a nightclub atmosphere rather than a dancehall. The usual salsa crowd wasn't there on the Saturday night I visited in 2006. Of all of the people on the dance floor, only the instructors, one of their female students and a guy who teaches salsa in Woburn knew how to dance salsa and merengue. Groups of twenty-something girls in halter tops danced together in a circle. A few Latino guys stood to the side, still wearing their coats, holding their drinks. The DJ played a Bachata and everyone freestyled it; I don't think anyone knew the basic. Some of the music is salsa, merengue, bachata you'd hear at Ryles or El Bembe. Most of it isn't. It's a thumping, electronic version of it. Upstairs was a bit quiet most of the night, a guy beating a drum strolled through the crowd, trying to liven things up. Downstairs the packed dance floor threw off energy, people jumping, grinding, hands in the air. Bring your wallet, because drinks are expensive and you'll pay to check your coat. In summary, if you are looking for a fun nightclub experience with a Latin flair, you will enjoy Mojitos. If you want to find experienced dance partners and practice your best moves, you will be disappointed.

Reviewed by "unlisted2023" on 12/12/2005 14:26:51 Pop up this reviewer's ratings
Simply the best night in the city. But if you don't like a mixed crowd and I mean crowd this place gets packed. Not much room for traditional dancing but really good for a wild saturday night. Lots of cute people. Love it! Go for yourself and find out.

Reviewed by "Lilly" on 11/11/2005 10:9:8 Pop up this reviewer's ratings
Not recommended for SALSA!!! I went there on Saturday hoping to find a good Sat spot for salsa. No luck! They played a little bit of salsa, some merengue, but then it all turned to reggaeton, hip-hop, etc. Why would I drive all the way downtown to dance to the same club mix that I can dance to at a club near my house, without driving and paying for parking? On top of all, there were no good salsa dancers there to dance with, unlike Havana Club or Ryles. I danced with a couple of people, it was very basic. Very few couples danced when salsa was playing, it looked like people were waiting for raggaeton & hip-hop as the dance floor started filling up. The dance floor there is tiny, too. It was a waste of my time and money.

Reviewed by "llatin2" on 11/7/2005 16:56:42 Pop up this reviewer's ratings
I drove a long way to try out Mojitos on Saturday. The cover charge is usually $10 but I got in for $5. Once I got in, Iwas told "no coats allowed upstairs" so I had to hand over my coat with $3 to check it.On to upstairs... well, it is very small, dark and poorly ventilated. A small private party was going on, so they were using most of the small tables available, my friend and I had to stand for awhile before the tables were free.access to the ladies room was blocked because of the private party.. luckily the bouncer was nice enough to let us go thru to use it, otherwise we would have to have gone downstairs. ..and I thought drinks at Vincents were expensive!! One small drink (lots of ice) $9. ok, that surprised me a little. shows how much I *dont* go to Boston clubs. The club was not really that crowded but hey it was early.. . The music was"ok" nothing that made me want to party on the small dance floor.mixed crowd. AFter awhile, we went downstairs where it was much much cooler ..the dj played hip hop reggaeton.. etc.. which was the usual stuff. not too crowded. not too exciting. ALl-in-all.. it was like.. ok, I came, I saw, I left...and I wont go back!! Oh.. yeah.. the "safe"factor"? There isnt one in Boston. I'm going back to Vincents!

Reviewed by "pepe miel" on 10/28/2005 18:46:12 Pop up this reviewer's ratings
I WENT TO MOJITOS LAST SATURDAY WITH MY FIRENDS FROM COLOMBIA AND PERU AND BOY WE HAD A FUN TIME. I RECALL HEARING MY FRIEND MARCUS SAYING IT WAS THE BEST NIGHT HE EVER HAD IN BOSTON. THE PLACE IT'S PRETTY WELL SPREAD OUT, IT COULD USE A FEW MORE GIRLS UP FOR DANCING BUT... HEY, THIS IS BOSTON AND YOU KNOW HOW GIRLS ARE HERE... AFTER ALL WE DID FIND SOME CHICAS TO HANG WITH SO I CAN'T COMPLAIN.

Reviewed by "Oscar Hernandez" on 10/8/2005 14:31:59 Pop up this reviewer's ratings
I was at Mojitos last night (Friday) and it was a blast. There was a good variety of music, a great salsa class and a diverse and upbeat crowd. Even so, my favourite night here is by far Thursday. First of all they have a really good Salsa band that plays all night and sometimes slips into Cuban Timba really livening up the dancing. Secondly they have more advanced classes so if youíre learning, you can learn something new. But if youíre like the jerk who made the first comment this place might be a bit ďLatinoĒ for you. Warning: You might hear Latin mix here occasionally and you also might dance with a partner who grew up dancing and isnít sure if itís on one or two so if you prefer Taco Bell over genuine Latino Cuisine youíll probably make similar choices when it comes to dancing and going out.

Reviewed by "NacidaSalsera" on 9/29/2005 15:7:1 Pop up this reviewer's ratings
I had a great time. The music, the crowd, the ambience. I COMPLETELY DISAGREE WITH THE PREVIOUS PERSON. See that's the problem with people who learn to dance Salsa by taking lessons instead of living the SALSA MOVEMENT IN YOUR HEART. You are more concerced with dance steps, and with who is who than anything else. "I don't mind dancing with beginners!"--what does that mean. Pathetic! Was the place a little TOO LATINO FOR YOU...meaning a OLD SCHOOL SALSA CLUB sans NEOphites who discovered Salsa later in life to only be obsessed with something they won't quite ever understand. Yes, if you go to Mojitos you will hear all kinds of Latino music. There will be all kinds of people there, young and old, from all over the place. And folks have very diffrent types of dancing levels (whatever that means) and style--and that is what made is so GREAT! If yo want to sick with "trained" and therefore "mechanical dancers"....please go somewhere else. A true Salsero appreciates all kinds of music, but above all enjoy fellowship with others who are having a good time. Ay Mike...que probecito.

Reviewed by "Mike" on 9/10/2005 23:10:51 Pop up this reviewer's ratings
Terrible. I want my money back! The standard of dancing was poor, had people dancing salsa to merengue tracks. There was only salsa about every 3rd song. The people there are not true salsa people. I asked one girl to dance and she refused on account of the fact she "had a boyfriend". I think i saw one couple who could dance well, and they didnt seem to want to dance with other people. True salsa people DO NOT GO HERE! I know I'm never going back (unless with im with a girl who actually wants to dance salsa so i can dance with her) PS. I dont mind beginners, Im happy to dance with them. Its when they dont participate and do the salsa thing that it annoys me. PPS. Again DONT GO HERE!!!!

For more reviews select a club. If a club is not listed, no reviews for it have been received yet.

Please Write your own review!

 

© 2005 SalsaBoston Entertainment, All Rights Reserved